Bloomsbury to Publish To The Lions by Holly Watt

Journalist Casey Benedict is about to uncover a secret that will take her to the darkest corners of the human mind in this brilliant new international thriller from an award-winning journalist.

‘Sensational! I loved it. Superbly plotted, and what a brilliant series lead! A sure hit’

Clare Mackintosh

‘Completely riveting. A breath-holding rollercoaster of a read, which opens doors and windows into the way the world is that are genuinely shocking’

Manda Scott, author of A Treachery of Spies

A journalist must follow the clues, no matter how far that takes her.

Casey Benedict, star reporter at the Post, has infiltrated the lives and exposed the lies of countless politicians and power players. Using her network of contacts, Casey is always on the search for the next big story, no matter how much danger this might place her in, no matter what cost emotionally.

Tipped off by an overheard conversation at an exclusive London nightclub, she begins to investigate the apparent suicide of a wealthy young British man, whose death has left his fiancée and family devastated.

Casey’s determined hunt for the truth will take her from the glitz of St­Tropez to the deserts of Libya and on to the very darkest corners of the human mind.

  • John le Carré meets State of Play – To The Lions commercial, smart new series set against an international backdrop
  • This will be perfect reading for fans of Mick Herron, Philip Kerr and Adam Brookes, but with a female author and protagonist will be something fresh and new in the genre
  • Holly Watt is an investigative journalist herself, and was part of the team that broke the parliamentary expenses scandal. She will be available for publicity and events throughout 2019 and beyond

Reviews

“This fast-paced thriller follows journalist Casey Benedict on a dark trail of murder, political corruption and lies in a well-told tale that grabs you from the very first page”-

i

“This book is astonishing. Containing the most horrific concept for a crime novel I’ve ever encountered, it manages also to be beautifully written and tragic.question the value we put on human life and consider what it means to be human.

Utterly unforgettable” – Emma Flint, author of ‘Little Deaths’

Author Biography

As an award-winning investigative journalist, Holly Watt worked on MPs Expenses and the Panama Papers. She has written for the Sunday Times, the Daily Telegraph and the Guardian. She lives in London.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: